Some Night Owl Photos

Site 3

So Phil over at birdsofessex.blogspot.com had some terrific night photos of a screech owl from one of his boxes, this inspired me to try it out. Granted I knew I wouldn’t get the quality that Phil got, but it would be fun to experiment with my little superzoom..I recently remembered I had a tripod from long ago for an old spotting scope, which is needed to avoid blur as the shutter speeds are so slow.

This is the Female here, she was staying in the pole box today (Although she has started to make a couple stays in the SQR type box just recently, where the nest has been for the past 2 seasons). So I watched flyout and tracked her fairly easily. Anyway it will be fun to get some more experiences like this!

3 comments

  1. Hey Scott, great photos!! Tough time of day to get anything sharp and these look awesome!! Not as many Screech Owls being seen yet with the warmer weather, nice to see yours are still around.

  2. Thanks Phil and Diana

    phil, I have to keep the iso’s lower (400 or 800) to get decent ones, luckily owls can stay quite still, that last one the shutter was at 1.2 seconds.

    all 4 sites from last year (3 nesting and the 1 non nesting) that had owls last year remain active consistently this year…but haven’t seen anything at my ‘known road side’ cavities.

Leave a Reply

