Spreading the Resistance: Another Quick Resident

Although not a record (site 9 = 3 days)I do have a report of another quick resident owl taking up. It took about 15 days, I installed the box November 21st 2015 and then got this note in December, the owl was seen Dec 6th in Massachusetts

Shortly before Thanksgiving the box was installed.
December 6th something bright caught my eye. I was very excited but then thought it was an orange oak leaf that had caught on the box.
In fact, it was an adult Screech Owl checking things out from the hole in the box. I haven’t seen her recently but she or someone else was very active outside my window late last night.
We are delighted. I hope she stays and invites someone to live with her.
P1060334

Thank you much for the update, and congrats on the owl!

2 comments

  1. yes i do make the boxes, I did open up an etsy ‘store’ of the same name as the blog to sell them…I wouldn’t quite call them squirrel proof, but they seem to do a good job keeping squirrels from taking over the boxes provided proper mounting. I would call them squirrel resistant.

Leave a Reply

